2019-2020 Calendar

Sessional Dates

SUMMER SESSION (F/S) 2019*

Engineering Courses

April 9 Tuesday First day students can enrol in engineering elective courses in ACORN (6 am).
April 24

Wednesday

Last day students can pay or defer fees.
May 6 Monday F Term engineering elective courses begin.
May 6 Monday First-year T-Program classes begin.
May 8 Wednesday Courses removed for non-registered students.
May 9 Thursday Last day students can waitlist F term engineering minor courses.
May 12 Sunday

Last day students can enrol in F/Y engineering elective courses on ACORN
Last day studnets can enrol in first-year T-Program courses.

May 20 Monday Victoria Day holiday: University closed.
June 4 Tuesday Last day students can drop F courses (T-Program/F Session Engineering Minor) without academic penalty*.   Requests to drop T-Program courses must be submitted to the First Year Office (GB170) by 4 p.m.
June 20 Thursday

F Term engineering elective classes end.

June 21 Friday

First-year T-Program classes end.
Y Term engineering elective courses course break.

June 24
June 28
Monday
Friday

Final examinations for F term engineering elective and T-Program courses.

July 1 Monday

Canada Day: University closed.

July 2 Tuesday

S term engineering elective courses begin.

July 4 Thursday

Last day students can waitlist S engineering elective courses.
Y Term engineering elective courses resume.

July 8 Monday

Deadline to enrol in S term courses in ACORN.

July 15 Monday

Last day students can drop Y Session courses without academic penalty.*

July 29 Monday

Last day students can drop S Session courses without academic penalty*.

August 5 Monday

Civic holiday: University closed.

August 16 Friday

S and Y Term engineering elective classes end.

August 19 to August 23 Monday to Friday

Final examination period for S Term engineering elective courses.

(*) Pending approval by Faculty Council

REFUND DATES

The last date to cancel a course or cancel your registration in a session with no academic penalty may not always coincide with the last date that you are eligible for a refund. Review the refund schedules for applicable dates and deadlines: www.fees.utoronto.ca.

St. George Arts & Science Courses

 April 16  Tuesday First day for engineering students to enrol in Arts & Science summer courses (6 am).
 April 24 Monday Last day students can pay or defer fees.
 May 6 Monday Classes begin in F and Y term courses.
 May 8 Wednesday Courses removed for non-registered students.
May 9 Thursday Last day of F and Y term courses waitlist.
May 12 Sunday Deadline to enrol in F and Y term courses on ACORN.
May 13  - May 17 Monday to Friday Late enrolment into Y courses (Registrar's Office only).
May 20 Monday  Victoria Day: University closed.
June 4 Tuesday  Last day to drop F term courses without academic penalty*. 
June 14 Friday  Classes end for F term courses. 
 June 19 -  June 25 Wednesday to Tuesday Final examinations for F term courses. 
 June 26 - June 28 Wednesday to Friday Break for Y Term courses. 
July 1 Monday Canada Day: University closed.
July 2 Tuesday Classes begin for S Term courses; Y courses resume.  
July 4 Thursday Last day students can waitlist S term courses.
July 8 Monday Deadline to enrol in S term courses in SWS.
July 15 Monday Last day students can drop Y term courses without academic penalty*. 
July 29 Monday Last day students can drop S term courses without academic penalty*. 
August 5 Monday  Civic Holiday: University closed. 
August 12 Monday Classes end for S and Y term courses.
 August 15 - August 22 Thursday to Wednesday Final examinations for S and Y courses.

(*) REFUND DATES

The last date to cancel a course or cancel your registration in a session with no academic penalty may not always coincide with the last date that you are eligible for a refund. Review the refund schedules for applicable dates and deadlines: www.fees.utoronto.ca.

FALL SESSION (F) 2019

 

July 17 Wednesday First day U of T engineering students can changes to their personal timetables on ACORN (6:00 am).
July 17 Wednesday First day for U of T engineering students can add Arts & Science (A&S) courses with reserved seating on ACORN (6:00 am).
August 7 Wednesday First day U of T engineering students can enrol in all Arts & Science (A&S) courses on ACORN (6:00 am).

August 1
August 6
August 8

Thursday
Tuesday
Thursday

No Arts & Science course enrolment.
August 15 Thursday Last day to pay or defer fees.
August 29 Thursday Courses removed for non-registered students.
September 2 Monday  Labour Day: University closed.
September 2 Monday Orientation programs for first-year students begin.
September 5 Thursday Engineering lectures in F and Y term courses begin.
September 5 Thursday  Arts & Science lectures in F and Y term courses begin.
September 6 Friday ESIP and PEY Co-op registration begins (www.engineeringcareers.utoronto.ca).
September 13 Friday

Last day waitlists are operational for F and Y term courses.

September 13 Friday

Last day students can request transfers out of Engineering Science (first-year students).

September 16 Monday Last day students can register for PEY Co-op or ESIP.
TBA TBA

Last day U of T engineering students can enrol in A&S courses with reserved seating.

September 18 Wednesday Last day students can add or substitute Fall term (F) or full-year (Y) courses on ACORN.
September 19
September 25
Thursday 
Wednesday
Late enrolment for Y courses only (Registrar's Office only). 
 September 30 Monday

Last day students can apply to re-enrol for the 2020 Winter term. 

October 14 Monday Thanksgiving Day: University closed. 
October 31 Thursday Examination timetable for F term courses posted (tentative).
November 4 Monday
Last day students can drop F term courses without academic penalty, including Fall term courses taken in A&S. 
Last day students can apply to transfer to part-time studies.  
Last day students can withdraw from the Fall term without academic penalty.*
November 4 - November 8 Monday to Friday A&S Fall Reading Week. No Fall term A&S courses offered.
November   Fall Convocation ceremony for the conferring of the Bachelor of Applied Science & Engineering Science degrees. Visit www.convocation.utoronto.ca for details.
December 4 Wednesday Last day of A&S classes.

Last day students can apply for late withdrawal without documentation (LWD) from electives. 
December 4 Wednesday Last day of lectures in the F term; all term work should be submitted by this date.
December 5 Thursday Fall study day.
December 6 to
December 20
Friday
Wednesday

F term U of T Engineering exams (the Faculty will hold exams on Saturdays and evenings during this period). Exams for courses offered by other Faculties may be held during other periods.

December 7 to December 20 Saturday
Friday

F term A&S exams and Y term A&S midterms.

December 24  to 
January 3
Tuesday
Friday
Winter break: University closed.
January 11 Saturday Emergency Winter Exam Date. The Faculty will use this date for any cancelled December Exams

* Pending approval by Faculty Council

(*) REFUND DATES

The last date to cancel a course or cancel your registration in a session with no academic penalty may not always coincide with the last date that you are eligible for a refund. Review the refund schedules for applicable dates and deadlines at www.fees.utoronto.ca.

WINTER SESSION (S) 2020*

January 6 Monday Lectures begin in S term courses and resume in Y term courses for A&S. 
January 6 Monday Lectures begin in U of T Engineering S term courses and resume in Y Session courses.
January 7 Tuesday ESIP and PEY Co-op registration begins
 January 13 Monday

Last day students can transfer out of Engineering Science (first-year students) to Track One or a Core 8 engineering program

January 13 Monday  Lectures begin for T-Program courses. 
January 14 Tuesday

Last day students can register for PEY Co-op and ESIP.

January 16

Thursday Last day students can waitlist S term courses.
 January 19 Sunday Last day students can add or substitute S term courses.
 February 17 Monday  Last day students can drop Y (full-year) courses without academic penalty.* 
Note: A student taking a full-year core course will not be allowed to drop this course in the Winter term if a recalculation of his or her Fall term load shows that dropping the course will reduce the F term course load to fewer than 2.5 credits.
February 17 Monday Family Day holiday: University closed.
February 17 to
February 21
Monday
Friday 
Reading Week: No lectures, tutorials or practicals.
February 28 Friday Examination timetable for S and Y term courses posted (tentative). 
March 15 Sunday Last day students can drop S term courses without academic penalty, including S term courses taken in A&S.   
Last day students can transfer to part-time studies. 
Last day students can withdraw from S term without academic penalty.*
Last day students can apply to re-enrol for the 2020 Fall term.

April 3

 

Friday

 

End of classes for A&S S and Y term courses. 

Last day students can apply for late withdrawal without documentation (LWD) from A&S electives.

April 6 to
April 25
Monday
Saturday
S and Y term exam period for A&S courses.
April 9 Thursday Last day of U of T Engineering lectures in S and Y term courses; all term work should be submitted by this date.
Last day students can apply for late withdrawal without documentation (LWD) from electives for U of T Engineering courses.
April 10 Friday Good Friday holiday: University closed.
April 13 Monday Winter study day.
April 14
    to
April 28
Tuesday

Tuesday
S and Y term exams. 
Note: Exams for courses offered by other faculties may be held outside of this period.
May 15 Friday  Application deadline for transfers between engineering programs.

 * Pending approval by Faculty Council

REFUND DATES

The last date to cancel a course or cancel your registration in a term with no academic penalty may not always coincide with the last date that you are eligible for a refund. Review the refund schedule for applicable dates and deadlines: www.fees.utoronto.ca.

Note: these dates are pending approval by Faculty Council.

 SUMMER SESSION 2020 (TENTATIVE) 

 May 4

Monday  First-year U of T Engineering classes begin.
May 18 Monday Victoria Day: University closed.
 June 22 Monday First-year U of T Engineering classes end.
 June 23 to June 26 Tuesday
Friday
Final exams for first-year U of T Engineering courses.  
July 6 Monday S classes start / Y courses resume.
August 3 Monday Civic Holiday: University closed.
 August 14 Friday S/Y classes end.
 August 17 to August 21 Monday to Friday Final exam period for S/Y courses.